Things that have happened recently

Isn’t that a great title? It could be used for pretty much every blog post ever and that kind of flexibility is a good thing, right? I’m not just being lazy, right?

I had that date last weekend which I felt went pretty well, but ended earlier than I’d hoped for the understandable reason that she had to be up early to babysit the next day. We texted back-and-forth during the week, but when it came to Thursday and I explicitly asked her out again, she was too busy this weekend. So I’m not sure if she was being phenomenally polite but ultimately disingenuous in saying that she wanted to get together again or if it’s just true that she happened to be too busy but did in reality want to see me. I guess time will tell. I’ve decided to let her make the next move.

I also found out that This American Life is doing a live show broadcast to movie theaters similar to what I’ve been to before with other groups (Riff Trax). I was so excited and worried about the tickets selling out that I went online and ordered them on my phone while I was still at work. I ordered 3 at the time: one for me, one for my coworker that told me about it, and one optimistically for a date. Well, the third ticket seems to be freed up now and the funny thing is that I wouldn’t be broken up about it if it ended up just being me and this girl from work. It’s a horrible, horrible, awful idea and can NEVER happen because she technically works in a group below me in the office, but I think if circumstances were different that I could ask her out and she’d say yes.

Foolish though it is, I’ve also been texting back and forth with The Girl Who Painted Her Car this week. Yes, I’m still hung up on her. I still have an inkling that she may have some sorts of feelings for me. But when you get right down to it, she’s still spending her nights with someone else and at a certain point I’ve got to say to myself that she’s already made her decision and it didn’t end up in my favor.

So that’s the three women on my mind at the moment.

Finally this week I pulled the trigger and had someone put in a gas line to my kitchen so that I can have a gas range put in. It was more expensive than I’d thought, but the quote seemed reasonable when I compared it around the internet. I also ordered the range!! I’m SO EXCITED. It should be here on Wednesday. Here it is in all its glory:

The LG 3095 Stainless Steel Gas Range

I’ve been trying to decide what the first thing should be that I try in it. Should it be something scientific like my chocolate chip cookies that I know like the back of my hand and have a good feel for how they normally come out? Should it be something sentimental like Texas Sheet Cake, the recipe that I loved as a kid and was taught to bake on? Or should it maybe be something that I just want to make like a loaf of challah bread? At the moment, the latter is winning out.

On a more personal note, I’ve been fighting not to feel down lately as I’ve been trying to help out several friends who are dipping into depression. It’s so easy to get dragged under in situations like that. I don’t know how much I can/want to write about it right now, but it’s something lingering in the back of my mind.

~ by eversinceaugust on April 29, 2012.

What do you think?